homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » News, Reviews, Views!   » Our stupid lives   » Passing of an era

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Passing of an era
TheMoMan
BlabberMouth, a Blabber Odyssey
Member # 1659

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted February 17, 2008 06:58      Profile for TheMoMan         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
________________________ Many of you know that I worked in the US Auto industry, I do not disclose who because of many nondisclosure agreements I had to sign, and also they are paying on Patents and Copyrights from upgrades to Machining Software. But here is the rest of the story. When I hired in there were twelve thousand people working at a Eight Plant complex that covered about three square miles. It is now down to about twenty-five hundred and getting smaller. I recieved this missive last night, I edited small items so as not to disclose where I worked.

There is nothing left in Plant 6. I'm the last electrician assigned to 6. I'm disconnecting and shipping select equipment to Canada, Mexico or to the engineers research lab. Damn, this sucks! I feel like I'm putting my dog down at the vets. The plan is to build a wooden wall between 6 and 8, weld all outside doors shut and turn out the lights. The taxes are much lower once the building is abandoned.

We had a meeting Friday and the Company is planning to let all "contract employees" go in 2 weeks, plus do permanent lay-offs for about 25 skilled trades. They will have no recall rights to our plant, but supposedly will be in the (Automakers) pool. They will be available for the new SPO plant (Center RD. Old Plant 7).