homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » News, Reviews, Views!   » Our stupid lives   » Jobs

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Jobs
bpfx
Single Celled Newbie
Member # 6257

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted November 15, 2006 20:03      Profile for bpfx     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I was curious as to other peoples opions on their tech jobs. Currently I am a Unix/Linux Systems Administrator, Systems Engineer. I support various customers on various platforms, AIX, HPUX, Solaris, RHEL (Red Hat), and Windows. I like my job, I get to work with alot of different technologies, java, php, perl, weblogic, endeca, dynamo, ATG, Sun One, etc...

It seems like everyday there is something else to do/learn. But everyday, there is a new policy, a new way to screw up. Most of the time it's not bad, just part of the game, but then sometimes, I get to the point to say, Why am I putting this much effort into this, when all I get is "Yeah, but you didn't do this, this or this."

I seriously don't think I'm the only one that feels this way, and I do know that I deal with less BS than at other places. But I was curious what it's like elsewhere.

Posts: 3 | From: Texas | Registered: Nov 2006  |  IP: Logged
CommanderShroom
BlabberMouth, a Blabber Odyssey
Member # 2097

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted November 15, 2006 20:55      Profile for CommanderShroom     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am somewhere between spite and loathing with my current lot in the work life.

But hey, I guess someone has to be at the bottom.

But the West Coast market for people with my particular skill set and education level is pretty much half a step from minumum wage anymore. Boy I am so glad I worked while my ex went to school...