homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Love!   » All about Love!   » Thoughts On Cross-Geekdom

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Thoughts On Cross-Geekdom
Demosthenes
SuperBlabberMouth!
Member # 530

Icon 1 posted May 09, 2006 11:03      Profile for Demosthenes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Didn't think I'd be posting in this part of the fora anytime soon...I've been off the playing field for so long that I've forgotten what people do when they're getting to know each other.

Anyway, I have a date, potentially on Friday, with someone I met at a mutual friend's party. He's a big ol' shy linguist who's into D&D and fantasy novels. We've got the pop culture side of geekiness in common, but at heart I'm an engineer and he's a language fiend.

So I'm thinking like hell to come up with something to do that's cool for both of us. I hate traditional dates...dinner and a movie is too old-school, and movies cut out all means of conversation. I was thinking of suggesting the Science Museum; it's free this month for members of my bank, and open late on Fridays, however, I'm not sure if it'll appeal to him, as he's more of an arts person from what I can judge. Any other ideas? (Boston-area people, I'm looking at you.)

Also, I met him at a formal-dress party. That is to say, I was all girlified and wearing a dress. I think that my friends' reactions ("It's Demos and she's in a DRESS OMG OMG") made it clear that I'm no fashionista, but is it going to be freaky if I show up in jeans and a Deicide t-shirt?

I'm nervous, damn.

zesovietrussian
SuperBlabberMouth!
Member # 1177

Icon 1 posted May 09, 2006 11:24      Profile for zesovietrussian     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote