homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » News, Reviews, Views!   » Politics/Religion/Current Affairs   » Debates last night... (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Debates last night...
PaintedBlue
Geek Larva
Member # 21999

Icon 5 posted September 27, 2008 14:40      Profile for PaintedBlue   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi, newbie here! [Smile]

I'm a rabid follower of politics and I was really looking forward to the debate last night.
I decided beforehand to do my best to watch with a non-biased eye, so I meditated away negative thoughts as best I could and then sat back to watch the volleying.

I thoroughly enjoyed it, but must say I was surprised this morning when I began reading the opinion of so many who gave the debate to Obama.

I honestly thought Senator McCain would easily be declared "the winner" of this round.

While I thought Senator Obama did very well, I found his "chomping at the bit" a tad immature/green in contrast to McCain's calm, assertive approach to the questions and re-addresses.
Also, I was disappointed that Senator Obama did not set a better example for the multitudes of youth that follow his lead in respect to repeatedly calling Senator McCain "John" whereas McCain never once referred to Obama as "Barack."
It's just common respect, especially when dealing with someone who's older and been in "the business" much longer than you.

The expansive knowledge on foreign policy in McCain's favor was a given...so I won't go into any depth there.

I am eager to hear opinions from others regarding the "winner" in their opinion. [Smile]

Cheers!
Michele

--------------------
What binds us together is stronger than what separates us.