homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » All about you!   » New Guy

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New Guy
shparks
Maximum Newbie
Member # 20945

Rate Member
Icon 12 posted September 01, 2008 00:18      Profile for shparks   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello. I just joined the group. I am a graduate student, getting my Masters in Teaching. Until recently, I intended to teach around the 3rd or 4th age group. But now I might have the opportunity to do my student teaching with a 7th grade Math and Science teacher. That might be the right fit for me - I mean "Science Teacher" has a much geekier ring to it than "4th Grade Teacher," right?
Posts: 15 | From: Vancouver, WA | Registered: Aug 2008  |  IP: Logged
Ashitaka

SuperFan!
Member # 4924

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted September 01, 2008 02:04      Profile for Ashitaka     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I thnk this would be about the worse age group to tach in school. especially if the 7th grade is in a middle school and not part of a 1-7 then 9-12 system. When you have 6-8th year students only in a school I thk it is much more dificult to have control over the students because I think this age group of students needs to A)be the oldest in the school and be looked up to by all the 3rd graders and such, and or B) have example s of students around the school that are a bit more mature. Just my opinion. I learned absdolutlely nothing in middle school science. It wasn't until high school when I had the opportunity to be seperated from the idiot students that science became interesting.

--------------------