homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » All about you!   » Hiya!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Hiya!
Alerys
Single Celled Newbie
Member # 17494

Rate Member
Icon 7 posted May 08, 2008 17:31      Profile for Alerys   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Just stumbled across this site and don't know how I've never noticed it before...

I'm not much for labels, and can't honestly say I know the difference between "geek" and "nerd", but somewhere in there is me I suppose.

I'm currently in school for computer programming and analysis (I've been working on my AA for almost 10 years, because people kept tricking me into thinking I wanted to do something else... business management? really? no!).

I play EQ2, but not an addict (no, really). I read fantasy, philosophy, horror. Watch horror movies. Lots of other yay fun stuff.

And for anyone who likes to know how to pronounce things even though they're just reading it... My Ventrilo phonetic is "uh lairriss". Or for the humans, it's something like "uh-LAIR-is".

Okay, now... hi everyone!

Posts: 1 | From: Clearwater, FL | Registered: May 2008  |  IP: Logged
Mr. Dave
Geek
Member # 1977

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted May 08, 2008 19:29      Profile for Mr. Dave     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi, Alerys!

I think the difference between "nerd" and "geek" is one of degree more than anything else. Which is which? Your guess is as good as mine...

Judging from your cv, I would venture to say that you'll fit in around here just fine.

Welcome to the forums. [Smile]

--------------------
I'm not normally like this, but then I'm not normally normal.