homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » All about you!   » Hi! I'm a n00b with atomic inquiries.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Hi! I'm a n00b with atomic inquiries.
Chrisessa
Single Celled Newbie
Member # 5384

Member Rated:
Icon 6 posted July 12, 2006 18:10      Profile for Chrisessa   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
My name is Chrisessa. I am very proud of myself as this is my first forum ever. I am 28, female, and I have lots of interests from art to math to science. I am studying electronics engineering and I have many questions for geeks, so I will be asking nerd questions quite regualarly.

One thing that has been baffling me is holes and electrons. From my understanding, current is made when electrons leave the valence shell and become free. At that time they leave "holes" in the valance shell that act as a postitive charged particle. This is confusing to me, because this seems like it would change the molecular structure of the atom. The protons are meant to be in the nucleus, not the valance shell. Am I missing something? [Beard of Peter Gabriel!]

--------------------
eep!

Posts: 4 | From: Columbus, OH | Registered: Jul 2006  |  IP: Logged
nerdwithnofriends
Uber Geek
Member # 3773

Icon 1 posted July 12, 2006 20:50      Profile for nerdwithnofriends     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electron_hole

--------------------
"The Buddha, the Godhead, resides quite as comfortably in the circuits of a digital computer or the gears of a cycle transmission as he does at the top of a mountain or in the petals of a flower." - Robert M. Pirsig

SilverBlade
Alpha Geek
Member # 3541

Member Rated: