homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

New Poll  
my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » The Archives   » The Big Archives   » Freelance Web Development

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Freelance Web Development
macwoman
Alpha Geek
Member # 821

Member Rated:
Icon 5 posted December 16, 2003 05:56      Profile for macwoman   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all,

I have the opportunity to do some freelance web development for a small recruiting firm. I have lots of web development experience, but everything I've done has been either while working somewhere, while in school, or just my own personal stuff. I need to get an idea of what to charge. This won't be just a static site, but it won't be heavily complex either... a simple database of job openings with the ability to search by only a few criteria (location and date) and a web interface for adding new jobs.

I'll be checking around online to get an idea of rates too, but sometimes it can be hard to find people's rates... so I thought if any of you have done freelance web development you could tell me how much you charge. Also, in your opinion, is it better to charge a flat fee based on the scope of the project, or charge by the hour? And should I charge some kind of maintenance fee if the clients want changes made in the future?

Thanks... and feel free to email me at amber @ tangerinecs.com

--------------------
Amber L. Rhea
amberrhea (at) sbcglobal (dot) net
For great justice

Posts: 260 | From: Plano, TX USA | Registered: Jul 2001  |  IP: Logged
Super Flippy

SuperFan!
Member # 1101

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted December 16, 2003 07:12      Profile for Super Flippy   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post