homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » News, Reviews, Views!   » Rants, Raves, Rumors!   » Engineers have the word Engineer in their degree... (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Engineers have the word Engineer in their degree...
crazyarlo
Geek
Member # 1226

Member Rated:
Icon 8 posted August 28, 2006 16:58      Profile for crazyarlo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
So, I am cruising Google for jobs, and I notice they need Engineers. Sweet, I thought to myself, I'm an Engineer. Nope. What they are looking for are COMPUTER SCIENCE MAJORS!! What the hell?!!?!?! Are Software Designers, IT folk, and Programmers calling themselves ENGINEERS????? After all the hard work we put in to get an Engineering degree, I find it REALLY IRRITATING that anybody can just CALL themselves an Engineer!

Where I work, they call our Chemists .. Engineers, and call us (the real Engineers) ASSOCIATES!!

What's wrong with being called what you are? Are you a Sys Admin? Programmer? Systems Designer? JUST CALL YOURSELVES THAT! BE PROUD!!!!

Otherwise, go petition the colleges to merge their Computer Science departments with the Engineering departments. And good luck with that. It ain't happening.

Posts: 238 | From: Southern Ohio ... SURF OHIO, BABY! | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged
Stereo

Solid Nitrozanium SuperFan!
Member # 748

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted August 28, 2006 17:19      Profile for Stereo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote