homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Techno-Talking   » Hardware, Robots, AI, Geek Toys!   » Macs for Computer Science (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Macs for Computer Science
dunjamon
Mini Geek
Member # 2701

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted June 10, 2004 01:54      Profile for dunjamon   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I used a Mac until early 2001 when due to financial constraints (my dad buying the computer) I made the mistake of switching to windows. I'm looking at buying a 1.25Ghz iBook for university; I am studying a course, which is mainly based on UNIX, C, and Java. I have two major questions, these are:

Is the Mac any good for development and are the programming applications easy to obtain?

The build quality of the iBook as it will be spending the next 3 years in a backpack.

Thanks

--------------------
Computers may be twice as fast as they were in 1973 but your average voter is as drunk and stupid as ever.

Posts: 77 | From: Manchester England | Registered: May 2004  |  IP: Logged
The Famous Druid

Gold Hearted SuperFan!
Member # 1769

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted June 10, 2004 02:47      Profile for The Famous Druid     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Mac OS X is Unix based, and comes with C and java as standard, along with all the usual Unix goodies - perl, python, c++, yacc, lex, etc etc. Spoiled for choice really. There's also a quite nice developers IDE (or so I'm told, haven't got around to trying it myself). All standard, not a penny more to pay.

Can't really comment on the laptops, I'll leave that to those with first-hand experience. (or should that be first-lap experience?)

--------------------