homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Techno-Talking   » Math-a-holics and Code Junkies   » Fill in the blank: "I ____ math!" (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Fill in the blank: "I ____ math!"
maia
Alpha Geek
Member # 3778

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted June 24, 2007 12:28      Profile for maia     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
For me, it is "love". Love, love, love. But I recently began teaching high school math, and for many of my students it is "HATE" with a capital T. As a student, I always learned math quite easily. I didn't always make the best grades because I was bored and didn't do my work. However, I don't remember struggling with any subject matter until I got to college, and still I majored in math and did fine. Of course there are all sorts of research based teaching strategies to help struggling students. But one thing that I think about a lot is how do I personally relate? From my perspective of learning new things relatively easily, and enjoying challenges, how do get through to a student who has struggled in math for 9 years just to keep his head above water? Who has failed every standardized test, and has given up hope? I have not given up on them, and I believe they can succeed. I am willing to do everything I can. But, if they don't even try or believe in themselves, then they will not learn.

Any ideas or perspectives on this?

--------------------
Nothing is too petty to be thoroughly discussed.

Posts: 316 | From: United States | Registered: Apr 2005  |  IP: Logged
Richard Wolf VI
SuperBlabberMouth!
Member # 4993