homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » News, Reviews, Views!   » Your News!   » Thoughts on Pluto's Planetary Plight (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Thoughts on Pluto's Planetary Plight
Tech Angel
Alpha Geek
Member # 908

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted August 26, 2006 19:57      Profile for Tech Angel     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I was an avid amateur astronomer growing up (even built my own observatory in the back yard), so this whole discussion about Pluto's planetary status really fascinates me.

I've been reading various opinions on the IAU's decision, from erudite astronomers and lay people, science writers and school kids. What seems most disconcerting for those who don't approve of the decision is, How can you just take a planet and in essence "vote" it out of the club? Obviously nothing about Pluto itself has changed, so it feels as if people are trying to change a scientific fact by simply declaring it so. (All sorts of implications in terms of "rewriting history".) It's especially difficult to accept because Pluto has been a planet for the lifetime of virtually everyone alive today -- it's a "truth", and there is a certain security in anchoring one's self to immutable truths...even if sometimes those truths really aren't.