homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » A few questions for our resident Mac repairman

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: A few questions for our resident Mac repairman
DoctorWho

Gold Hearted SuperFan!
Member # 392

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 03, 2012 12:00      Profile for DoctorWho     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well my iMac had an internal hard drive crash last night. I tried repairing permissions without success. I also tried wiping and reinstalling snow leopard and it also resulted in failure. I am fairly certain I need to replace the hard drive to fix this thing. Do you know of a good guide I can look at online? Also what drive would you recommend I replace it with? I am not a novice when it comes to repairing computers but this is the first time I need to take an iMac apart so any thing you can tell me will be appreciated. It's a duo core 7,1 iMac if that will help you. The drive in it is a 1TB. Can it handle a 2TB?

--------------------
Laughter is like changing a baby's diapers. It doesn't solve anything but it sure improves the situation. Leo F. Buscaglia

Posts: 1694 | From: The TARDIS | Registered: Apr 2000  |  IP: Logged
Snaggy

Sir Snaggalot!
Member # 123

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 03, 2012 14:14      Profile for Snaggy   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
iFixit have some awesome guides! I aloway use them when installing new drives.

http://www.ifixit.com/

Posts: 8100 | From: Canada | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
DoctorWho

Gold Hearted SuperFan!
Member # 392

Member Rated: