homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » Low voltage woes

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Low voltage woes
nerdwithnofriends
Uber Geek
Member # 3773

Icon 1 posted September 08, 2007 13:19      Profile for nerdwithnofriends     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
So, I've been renting the house I currently live in for a couple months. There are various things wrong with it, which the landlord has yet to address. In fact, I haven't seen him since I signed the lease on this place- kind of sketchy, but at least he doesn't bother us.

One of the things that bothers/worries me the most is that in our kitchen, there are two sockets (presumably on the same circuit) that aren't "live". The kicker is, there is a potential across the prongs- about 38 v AC (It seems the normal voltage here is 123, give or take). However, I have reason to believe that as soon as the socket is put under load, the voltage drops to zero, because we've connected a lamp and a fan to this socket and they both refuse to run; I can somewhat understand the fan not wanting to run (even thought I'd think it would at least make an effort), but when a simple incandescent lightbulb refuses to light, it worries me. It should at least get warm or something, right?

None of the breakers in the house (there are two panels; originally, this was intended to be used as two separate apartments- one upstairs, one down) are blown, so this circuit is conceivably receiving a potential. What I'm worried about is that maybe there's a break in the wire somewhere, so if a short circuit were to develop at the socket for whatever reason (we don't use it, so it probably never will), that a spark might arc inside the wire and the house will burn down.