homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » VMS cheat sheet?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: VMS cheat sheet?
littlefish
BlabberMouth, a Blabber Odyssey
Member # 966

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted July 20, 2007 04:09      Profile for littlefish   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I've started working at a big facility and have to update a simple database of INS spectra. This means I have a VMS login and have to do all sorts of manipulations on custom software to get the data in a usable form. (FWIW I'm running genie (I have a manual) to manipulate TOSCA spectra) I've never used VMS before, and am finding some of the commands a little arcane. Does anyone know a good cheatsheet to get me up to speed with the basics? I just want to know very simple commands- the equivalent of cd, ls, chmod etc under UNIX.

I had a quick run through with the boss for about an hour, but most of that was spent looking for the gold key! [Wink] I'm running remotely from windows using Xceed.

Thanks for your help!

Posts: 2421 | From: That London | Registered: Nov 2001  |  IP: Logged
GrumpySteen

Solid Nitrozanium SuperFan
Member # 170

Icon 1 posted July 20, 2007 07:15      Profile for GrumpySteen     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
First, you have my deepest sympathies for having to use VMS...

Second, this will probably help

--------------------
Worst. Celibate. Ever.

Posts: 6361 | From: Tennessee | Registered: Jan 2000  |  IP: Logged
littlefish
Member # 966

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted July 20, 2007 07:53      Profile for littlefish   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote