homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » Programming abbreviations?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Programming abbreviations?
maybe.logic
Alpha Geek
Member # 5014

Member Rated:
Icon 5 posted July 12, 2006 02:02      Profile for maybe.logic     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Right. I am a bit of a nOOb at programming but I know a few things...

I am at the moment trying to learn Perl, The first thing I read was, TMTOWTDI paradigm of Perl, now I now know that this stands for there's more than one way to do it, but my question is why is it that there are so many of the abbreviations in programming languages, I know it is shorter than writting it, but surley it takes more time to think of the first letter in each word and then write it?

Can someone explain to me why they do this.

uilleann
Discontinued

Icon 1 posted July 12, 2006 02:25            Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
You mean, why do people abbreviate? Why we write "can't" instead of "can not"? Why people don't write out "British Broadcasting Corporation" or "United States of America" in full every time? Abbreviation is nothing new, and it's found in all walks of life including maritime and amateur radio as well as IT.

I don't know what specific examples you mean (it is a good idea to always cite examples) but it's generally never hard to write acronyms and other abbreviations. It's hard to read them when you've forgotten (again!) what they stand for, but this is a different matter to that which you brought up.