homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » How does an image crash a browser?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How does an image crash a browser?
RScottV

SuperFan!
Member # 3540

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 29, 2006 20:26      Profile for RScottV     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Don't go to this page in Safari (use Firefox or Camino):

I am curious about how an image can crash a browser. Can someone explain this? (If possible, use simple terms please. I am not a programmer!) Thanks!

Posts: 211 | From: Saint Paul, MN | Registered: Feb 2005  |  IP: Logged
magefile
Highlie
Member # 2918

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 29, 2006 21:31      Profile for magefile     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well, a picture, like anything else on a computer, is data. The browser interprets that data (or more likely, calls a library that interprets it). If the code that interprets that data is not correctly written, there may be cases where it can fall into an infinite loop, or try to access memory it shouldn't, or whatever.

Does that help?

--------------------
Let them be stupid - the market will sort it out.

Posts: 743 | From: Massachusetts | Registered: Aug 2004  |  IP: Logged
GameMaster
BlabberMouth, a Blabber Odyssey
Member # 1173

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 29, 2006 23:11      Profile for GameMaster   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Generally, crashes are caused when:
- Stack overflows (VERY EVIL)
- Accesses memory it isn't allowed to (VERY EVIL)

Anything that is able to either of these is, in theory at the least -- in practice at the worst, exploitable by people who mean ill.