homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » Guestbooks

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Guestbooks
Rhonwyyn

Solid Gold SuperFan!
Member # 2854

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted August 02, 2005 19:53      Profile for Rhonwyyn   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I just discovered today that someone with an ISP located in Accra, Ghana, spent over an hour on my website, but I have no idea who they are or what they thought about it! Hence, I shall engage the services of a guestbook.

What guestbooks do y'all use for your Website? Have any of you created ones that work well? If you've seen my site, you know I'm not a Web designer nor a coder, so I'd like a fairly low-maintenance (yet classy-looking) guestbook. (I finally figured out today how to create my nav bar... now I just need to go home and do it.)

--------------------
Change the way you SEE, not the way you LOOK!

Posts: 3846 | From: Lancaster, PA | Registered: Jul 2004  |  IP: Logged
dragonman97

SuperFan!
Member # 780

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted August 02, 2005 21:27      Profile for dragonman97   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Forgive the rudeness, but guestbooks are like, so 1999. [Wink]

(Most people these days are on the blog bandwagon.)

Also, if you do use one, find something that prevents "comment spam" (and I'm not talking about certain posts around these parts) - I'm talking about "Hello my friend, I am a rich African president, but please ignore the fact that I can't spell "president." Guestbooks and blogs are highly abused by scam artists and in general, scum, to increase search engine rankings.

--------------------