homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Ask a Geek!   » A Geeky Birthday

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: A Geeky Birthday
sconzey
Assimilated
Member # 2347

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted November 12, 2004 14:36      Profile for sconzey     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Summary for the lazy:Looking for Japanese recepies for a birthday suprise meal.

Detail: It's my S.O.'s birthday on December the 18th. (You may know Dogbert who frequented these forums a while ago)

Anyway, I've been giving it some thought, and as I'm a reasonable cook when I have a recepie to follow, I thought I'd cook her a meal. Knowing her as a Geek of Japan, I thought I'd cook her something Japanese.

A scan of the recepie books we have at home yielded nothing except a few seafood broths (she doesn't like seafood).

A google search yielded many recepies and sites full of information. Too many in fact.

Any favourites you like to reccomend?

--------------------
"Violence is the last resort of the incompetent."
--Isaac Asimov

Posts: 490 | From: UK | Registered: Aug 2003  |  IP: Logged
CommanderShroom
BlabberMouth, a Blabber Odyssey
Member # 2097

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted November 12, 2004 15:00      Profile for CommanderShroom     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
It depends on what she likes. Is she a vegitarian, or does she prefer dead animal flesh? Then what is her favorite stuff within it.

Here are a couple of my personal favs.

1. You must hand make teriyaki sauce, it's better that way.
2. Jasmine rice. OK it's not Japanese, but it's good. Or if you really have to go true Japanese get a bag of the Calrose rice. Wash it well there is a lot of talc in it.