homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » Let's Get Creative!   » I can but try

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: I can but try
punkpixie1984
Maximum Newbie
Member # 2898

Member Rated:
Icon 7 posted September 01, 2004 10:36      Profile for punkpixie1984     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I have studied and am studying the wonderfully tricky world of English Literature, and recently I have written a few short stories. I do not have much talent in this field yet. I'm hoping it is not one of those skills that is natural; let me be able to learn how. [Smile]

Anyway, this is my first attempt. It is from about two months ago, and is exceedingly short, but I would be so grateful if you could offer up criticisms, however trivial. Thanking you.

quote:

The frost bit into the statue as it shivered in the driving gales. An unexpected chill had fallen upon the forest, very early this year. Sophia gazed at the figure, transfixed by it‘s poetry. She had moved to the cabin to experience such moments as this. Her hand automatically reached out for the notebook that she kept always close.

‘How can a creation of such beauty be turned to such violent acts?’ She dictated aloud to herself as she wrote, not sure if she meant the wind, or the darkness she had seen in herself. ‘Why should it be forced to endure that? And yet, if it is moved, that will surely destroy it.’

Her eyes suddenly heavy, she closed the notebook, promising that she would continue these musings tomorrow. Sophia retired to her room, alone.

The statue remained, ever-freezing, alone.

--------------------
Weebles wobble but they don't fall down? Why, sir, I believe if you take a blowtorch to them you can melt them over. Proof that your product is faulty...