homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums

my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums   » Other Geeky Stuff   » All about you!   » jqubed

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: jqubed
jqubed
Maximum Newbie
Member # 7897

Rate Member
Icon 10 posted April 09, 2007 21:34      Profile for jqubed     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi, I'm jqubed, longtime reader (more of the comic, but the forums too), first time poster. I finally decided to register because I'm mulling over getting a Mac. I'm studying video/tv/audio production in school, and I'm starting to do freelance video work. I was all set to get going with Sony Vegas on my self-built PC (4 years old but still quite powerful) when some capacitors on my motherboard blew. Now I'm in a bit of a conundrum. I can buy a used motherboard like I had (the venerable Asus A7N8X Deluxe), or upgrade basically everything (4-year-old top-of-the-line doesn't really work with the new stuff [Frown] ). This provides an opportunity to jump to a Mac and use Final Cut, while I could still run Windows for everything else (I use Macs at school... and I still don't like them very much). There's things I prefer in each program, but Final Cut is definitely the dominant program and that becomes an advantage if I work with others.

Basically that's a long-winded way of saying I might get a Mac to do video editing and run Windows (or Linux) the rest of the time, and I'd like to ask questions of some of the more experienced geeks here in the coming weeks and months. But tonight is too late for that...

--------------------
Unabashed Windows Fan
I employ ellipses extensively...

Posts: 10 | From: The States | Registered: Apr 2007  |  IP: Logged
WinterSolstice

Solid Nitrozanium SuperFan
Member # 934

Member Rated: