homeGeek CultureWebstoreeCards!Forums!Joy of Tech!AY2K!webcam

The Geek Culture Forums!

New Poll  
my profile | directory login | | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» The Geek Culture Forums!   » The Archives   » The Big Archives   » Help me be a geek's dream girl (professional dev. question)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Help me be a geek's dream girl (professional dev. question)
salmonzerbinis
Maximum Newbie
Member # 1867

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted March 24, 2003 11:20      Profile for salmonzerbinis   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Here's the thing -- I love geeks. Love them so much I married one, and I chose a career where I get to work with them all the time. I'm a technical writer, specializing in software documentation (the user-end stuff).

I'm about to go freelance, but I want to do a little professional development first. I want to be a geek's dream girl. I want to know that I *deserve* my "Techno-Talking Babe) t-shirt. I want to sweep into a company, blow everyone away with my quickness, competence, and capability (in a "wow, she's great!" kind of way, not a "wow, what an arrogant bitch kind of way, of course). I want the *developers* to be thrilled that I'm on the job. I want them to *love* me. Developers, not always thrilled to deal with the tech writers - some of you undoubtedly know what I'm talking about.

So, to this end (the dream-girl end) I want to apply myself to learning how to use Unix (or a unix -- or several unices. I dunno). I want to devote some of my time and talent to writing docs for the open source community. Open source excites me very much, as a concept. I want to learn to use some alternative applications like GIMP ('cause Photoshop is frankly overkill for my needs, and freakin' expensive).